APNETS History

APNETS was founded in 2012 by a group of healthcare professionals who recognized the need for the creation of a regional society dedicated to enhancing the care of patients with neuroendocrine tumours. A meeting to discuss the formation of APNETS was co-organized by Dr. Harjit Singh [Malaysia] and Dr. P.Jagannath [India] on 7th July 2012, on the sidelines of the Asia Pacific Oncology Summit at the Intercontinental Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. It was during this meeting that the framework for the formation of the society and its primary objectives were drawn up. A Pro Tem Committee was appointed under the chairmanship of Dr. Harjit Singh and entrusted with the responsibility to establish the Asia Pacific Neuroendocrine Tumour Society [APNETS]. The society was officially registered in Kuala Lumpur on 31st January 2013.

The founding members of the Asia Pacific Neuroendocrine Tumour Society [APNETS] were:
Datuk [Dr] Harjit Singh [Malaysia]
Dr. P Jagannath [India]
Professor [Dr.] Rodney Hicks [Australia]
Dr. Anita M. Borges [India]
Dr. Krishnan Raman [Malaysia]
Associate Professor [Dr.] Nirush Lertprasertsuke [Thailand]
Assistant Professor [Dr.] Pei-Lung Chen [Taiwan]
Clinical Associate Professor [Dr.] Yau Chung Cheung, Thomas [Hong Kong]
Dr. Zanariah Hussein [Malaysia]
Dr. Sharmila Sachithanandan [Malaysia]
Distinguished Professor Datuk [Dr.] Looi Lai Meng [Malaysia]
Dr. Shahrina Man Harun [Malaysia]
Professor [Dr.] Park Young Suk [Korea]
Professor [Dr.] Chin-Yuan Tzen [Taiwan]
Associate Professor Dato' [Dr.] Fuad Bin Ismail [Malaysia]